Research Guides: Voting and Election Information: Home

Get Out the Vote!

To vote in Texas, you first must be registered. To register to vote you can either:

1. Register in person at your local Voter Registrar’s Office. You can find your county's office at: https://www.sos.texas.gov/elections/voter/votregduties.shtml

2. Register by printing out a voter registration application, filling it out, and mailing it in to the local voter registration office at least 30 days before the election date. You can find these materials at: https://www.votetexas.gov/register-to-vote/where-to-get-an-application-2.html

Voting and the Coronavirus

The League of Women Voters of Texas is an excellent resource for voting information. New for the 2020 voting cycle, the League has included a Voting & the Coronavirus guide with tips on making trips to the polls safer during this pandemic

Inclusive Voting & Outreach Resources

Texas Votes 2020

A project by the American Civil Liberties Union of Texas. Resources include important dates to share, voter eligibility and registration information, links to official government sites, as well as information related to accessibility and access

The National Coalition for the Homeless

Created a Homeless and Low-Income Voter Rights Manual, which includes useful examples for voter registration outreach and encouraging reluctant voters

Restore Your Vote

Many Americans with felony convictions are able to vote but just don’t know they can. Restore Your Vote allows individuals to determine if they are eligible to vote in their state

Transform the Vote

A project of the National Center for Transgender Equity Action Fund, provides resources and information for individuals. One of the resources that this website provides is a printable #VotingWhileTrans Guide that individuals can show poll workers if their identity or eligibility is questioned. Resources are available in both English and Spanish.

Fact Checkers

Vote Smart
Vote Smart's mission is to provide free, factual, unbiased information on candidates and elected officials to all Americans
Media Bias/Fact Check
With over 3000 media sources listed in the database, don’t be fooled by Fake News sources!
Politifact
A nonprofit project operated by the Poynter Institute, Politifact is a fact-checking website that rates the accuracy of claims by elected officials and others on its Truth-O-Meter
FlackCheck.org
Recognize flaws in arguments in general and political ads in particular

General Election Information

VoteTexas
Information on voting in Texas. Includes instructions on how to register, where to vote, and information on what will be on the ballot
Walker County Election Information
Your guide to local election and ballot information. This site also contains information related to current state and national elections
Ballotpedia
Ballotpedia is the online encyclopedia of American politics and elections, providing sample ballots describing to voters exactly what they're voting on. Sponsored by the Lucy Burns Institute, a nonpartisan and nonprofit organization
Rock the Vote
A nonprofit, non-partisan organization with the mission of engaging and building political power with young people in our country
Federal Election Commission
The FEC was created to promote confidence and participation in the democratic process
National Conference of State Legislatures Elections Resources
NCSL provides 50-state research on many election law and procedural issues
Presidential Elections Data
The American Presidency Project, non-profit and non-partisan, is the primary source of presidential documents on the internet. Hosted at the University of California, Santa Barbara
U.S. Election Assistance Commission
Election Official and voter Toolkit
U.S. House Election Information
Official vote counts for federal elections since 1920 from the official sources compiled by the Office of the Clerk
U.S. Senate Election Information
Compiles federal and state laws relating to the nomination and election of candidates to the Senate