Research Guides: SHSU Charter School Teacher Resources: Electronic Materials

Accessing Electronic Materials

EC-6 Instructional Material Databases

Looking for instructional materials? Check out these databases! Each database contains some sort of instructional material including lesson plans, reading guides, author interviews, or grade-level appropriate magazines or reading selections.

TeachingBooks.net This link opens in a new window Multimedia content to complement children's and young adult books, including thousands of educational resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in both the K-12 and children's/youth program environments. Designed to be used by K-12 teachers, librarians, students, families -- anyone using children's and youth books. Includes Spanish-language resources.
- This link opens in a new window

Children's Literature Discovery Tools

NoveList K-8 Plus This link opens in a new window NoveList has been helping readers find their next favorite book for more than 20 years, and continues to develop innovative solutions for connecting readers, books, and libraries. The database contains book details and recommendations for librarians, educators, instructional leaders, and all who support the youngest readers in our community. Included in NoveList K-8 Plus are: 1) Fiction and NonFiction (Informational) titles 2) Unique story elements, including appeal, genre, and theme 3) Read-a-like recommendations by title, author, and series 4) Reading level information, by age (0-8, 9-12, and Teen/YA), AR level, and Lexile level 5) Series information (what it’s about and what book comes next) 6) Resources for educators and parents, including books by topic or unit of study, display ideas, etc. 7) Lists! Recommended…, Top 10…, Best of…, Award Winners, I’m in the mood for…., etc.
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) This link opens in a new window The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is an acquisition, research, and reference service that offers full-text, searchable MARC records and reviews of children's books.

Reference/Background Information Databases

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference has access to over 3,400,000 entries, from over 675 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, etc. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology
- This link opens in a new window

Student Access to Electronic Materials

Keeping Up with Education

Education Week This link opens in a new window More than a print journal, Education Week’s online platform is updated weekly with new articles, informational and instructional videos, webinars, and more. Special sections on technology, market trends (K-12), and job searching are also included.
Digital edition of Education Week also available here
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Clearinghouse) This link opens in a new window Covers all areas of education, 1966 to the present, including research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. Links to many full-text documents since 1993. NOTE: The SHSU Library also owns ERIC on microfiche back to 1963.