Research Guides: ISDT 5369: Practicum-Technology Facilitation: Finding Resources

Essential Databases

Education Source This link opens in a new window International array of English-language journals, monographs, yearbooks and more, covering all levels of educationfrom early childhood to higher educationas well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Clearinghouse) This link opens in a new window Covers all areas of education, 1966 to the present, including research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. Links to many full-text documents since 1993. NOTE: The SHSU Library also owns ERIC on microfiche back to 1963.
LearnTechLib This link opens in a new window LearnTechLib is the premiere online resource for aggregated, peer-reviewed research on the latest developments and applications in Learning and Technology by the world's leading publications and authors. Developed and supported for and by researchers, librarians, and educators. This respected resource is more than a typical PDF database of content but is a multi-purpose service and tool. LearnTechLib encompasses 30+ years and 135,000+ peer-reviewed full-text documents and abstracts of published international journal articles, conference papers from 265,000+ leading authors and additional multimedia-rich resources including: Journal articles, Conferences papers, e-Books, Reports, Dissertations, Videos, Keynote Talks, Presentation slides, Webinars, Collections of articles with more added daily.
Library & Information Science Source This link opens in a new window Containing English and foreign-language periodicals, journals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, library school theses and books, this database encompasses subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, and the history of library studies.
Gale OneFile: Information Science This link opens in a new window Gale OneFile: Information Science contains valuable content for library science students, information science students, technology professionals, and others. Information Science is updated daily with articles covering all aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology, including usability, cataloging, circulation, business information, and more.
ProQuest SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window International coverage of scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more, covering a wide variety of topics in natural science and technology.

Recommended Databases

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window PsycINFO(R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new window UlrichsWeb is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.
Dissertations and Theses Full Text This link opens in a new window Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts (does not include SHSU master's theses). Many are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate download.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Huge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.
Gale OneFile: Computer Science This link opens in a new window Gale OneFile: Computer Science provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database provides information on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas like hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library (IEEE/IET Electronic Library) This link opens in a new window
The IEEE Xplore Digital Library is the premier database for research in electrical engineering, electronics, computer science and related disciplines. IEEE Xplore includes full-text access to over 5 million documents, including IEEE journals, magazines, conferences, and standards, as well as IET journals, magazines, and conferences with a backfile to the late 1800s for select titles.
Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Educator’s Reference Complete provides more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports for educators, from the school teacher and administrator to students in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. It seeks to provide full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty—such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.

eBooks

InfoSci from IGI Global This link opens in a new window Full-text chapters from every book and reference work IGI Global has published since the year 2000, as well as thousands of full-text journal articles, teaching cases, and a complete information science dictionary. Topics include information/computer science, and technology as applied to business & public administration, engineering, education, medical & health care, and social sciences.
Gale Ebooks (*formerly* Gale Virtual Reference Library - GVRL) This link opens in a new window Collection of ebooks (primarily reference) in almost all subjects, which are searchable together or individually. For a list of titles currently available, click on "Title List" at top right.
Ebook Central (formerly EBL) This link opens in a new window Huge collection of e-books in all subject areas. Books may be read online or downloaded (temporarily) to certain devices. Titles can be found in the library catalog or searched within Ebook Central.
Details on downloading ebooks.