Finding Articles - HIED 5367 - Diverse Student Populations - Research Guides at Sam Houston State University

Essential Databases

Education Source This link opens in a new window International array of English-language journals, monographs, yearbooks and more, covering all levels of educationfrom early childhood to higher educationas well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window Gale OneFile: Educator’s Reference Complete provides more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports for educators, from the school teacher and administrator to students in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. It seeks to provide full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty—such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window PsycINFO(R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Gale OneFile: Psychology This link opens in a new window Gale OneFile: Psychology supports research in all fields of psychology: abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social, and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.
- This link opens in a new window

Recommended Databases

ERIC (Educational Resource Information Clearinghouse) This link opens in a new window Covers all areas of education, 1966 to the present, including research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. Links to many full-text documents since 1993. NOTE: The SHSU Library also owns ERIC on microfiche back to 1963.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science provides cover-to-cover indexing in journals from a full range of disciplines, from 1984 to the present. Made up of Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, each index is a true cited reference index, with citation counts and the ability to trace research forward or backward in time. Links are provided when full-text access is available.
Dissertations and Theses Full Text This link opens in a new window Dissertations can be excellent stepping stone to accessing peer reviewed research on your topic.
Google Scholar (customized to link to SHSU resources) This link opens in a new window Google Scholar uses the familiar Google interface to search citations of scholarly books and articles. By using Google Scholar through this custom link on the library's website, your search results will automatically include links to online content owned by SHSU.
UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new window UlrichsWeb is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.

Other Education databases can be accessed on our Education Databases page.

Recommended Journals

Welcome to HIED 5367!

Bitmoji Image This guide has been designed for HIED 5367 - Diverse Student Populations. It contains key databases, tutorials, citation information, ILL information, and additional helpful resources. For additional assistance, please reach out using my contact information on the right. That's why I'm here and I'm always happy to help! I look forward to working with you. 😊

Please note: This guide is not exhaustive and is only intended as a starting point for students in HIED 5367. Although the guide may be useful for similar courses, this is not its intention.

Sample Research Topics

To develop your search terms:

Write out your question or topic in a sentence
Identify the most important words
Brainstorm alternatives for those important words (especially synonyms and historical terms)
- Check the Thesaurus in your chosen database (if available) to determine the database's preferred term

For example:

Important word/term: Higher Education

Alternatives: colleges, universities, postsecondary education

Search string:

"higher education" OR colleges OR universities OR "postsecondary education"

Scope Note: Students who are the first in their families to attend a postsecondary institution.