Finding Articles - HIED 5360 - History and Organization of Higher Education - Research Guides at Sam Houston State University

Statistics Resources

The resources below may contain data and statistics for higher education, more broadly, or even SHSU, specifically

Welcome to HIED 5360!

Bitmoji Image This guide has been designed for HIED 5360 - History and Organization of Higher Education. It contains key databases, tutorials, citation information, ILL information, and additional helpful resources. For additional assistance, please reach out using my contact information on the right. That's why I'm here and I'm always happy to help! I look forward to working with you. 😊

Please note: This guide is not exhaustive and is only intended as a starting point for students in HIED 5360. Although the guide may be useful for similar courses, this is not its intention.

Recommended Databases

Other Education databases can be accessed on our Education Databases page.

Education Source This link opens in a new window International array of English-language journals, monographs, yearbooks and more, covering all levels of educationfrom early childhood to higher educationas well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Clearinghouse) This link opens in a new window Covers all areas of education, 1966 to the present, including research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. Links to many full-text documents since 1993. NOTE: The SHSU Library also owns ERIC on microfiche back to 1963.
Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window Gale OneFile: Educator’s Reference Complete provides more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports for educators, from the school teacher and administrator to students in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. It seeks to provide full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty—such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window PsycINFO(R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Dissertations and Theses Full Text This link opens in a new window Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts (does not include SHSU master's theses). Many are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate download.
Google Scholar (customized to link to SHSU resources) This link opens in a new window Google Scholar uses the familiar Google interface to search citations of scholarly books and articles. By using Google Scholar through this custom link on the library's website, your search results will automatically include links to online content owned by SHSU.

Video Tutorials

Librarian

Tyler Manolovitz

Contact:

936-202-5052
tyler@shsu.edu

To schedule a meeting in-person or via Zoom, click the Schedule Appointment button above.

If Tyler is unavailable and you need immediate assistance, please contact Newton Gresham Library.

APA Citation Information

For introductory information and examples about APA citations, please view our APA Citations guide.

If you need access to the full style guide, Newton Gresham Library and SHSU-The Woodlands Center have print copies you can check out.

Other helpful resources include Purdue OWL and the APA Style Blog.

Distance Services & Interlibrary Loan

Take advantage of our Interlibrary Services to get almost any article or book you need, even if our library does not have access. If you are a distance student you can even request books from the main campus and have them shipped to your home for free.

To request a book we do not own, an article we do not have access to, or a book from the main campus, simply log in to ILLiad using your SHSU credentials and fill out the appropriate form. Please be sure to verify your contact information and mailing address.

For more information, please visit our Interlibrary Loan page.

HIED 5360 - History and Organization of Higher Education: Finding Articles