Finding Sources - EDLD 7337 - Academic Writing & Research - Research Guides at Sam Houston State University

Essential Databases

Education Source This link opens in a new window International array of English-language journals, monographs, yearbooks and more, covering all levels of educationfrom early childhood to higher educationas well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Clearinghouse) This link opens in a new window Covers all areas of education, 1966 to the present, including research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. Links to many full-text documents since 1993. NOTE: The SHSU Library also owns ERIC on microfiche back to 1963.
Dissertations and Theses Full Text This link opens in a new window Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts (does not include SHSU master's theses). Many are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate download.

Recommended Databases

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window PsycINFO(R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new window UlrichsWeb is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.

Tutorials

Selecting Database(s)

Searching for Scholarly Articles in the Education Databases

Searching for sources using a citation (or mining the Reference List)

Verifying Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Journals

Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh]
A free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.

Prof. Crane's preferred citation manger. Want more info? Send her an email at abc064@shsu.edu

Saving citations to Zotero

Adding a Zotero citation into Word

Research/Instruction Librarian

Tyler Manolovitz

Contact:

936-202-5052
tyler@shsu.edu

To schedule a meeting in-person or via Zoom, click the Schedule Appointment button above.

If Tyler is unavailable and you need immediate assistance, please contact Newton Gresham Library.

Textbook

Writing Literature Reviews by Galvan, J.L. & Galvan, M.C. This useful guide educates students in the preparation of literature reviews for term projects, theses, and dissertations. The authors provide numerous examples from published reviews that illustrate the guidelines discussed throughout the book. 　 New to the seventh edition: 　 Each chapter breaks down the larger holistic review of literature exercise into a series of smaller, manageable steps Practical instructions for navigating today's digital libraries Comprehensive discussions about digital tools, including bibliographic and plagiarism detection software Chapter activities that reflect the book's updated content New model literature reviews Online resources designed to help instructors plan and teach their courses (www.routledge.com/9780415315746).
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 1351858920
Publication Date: 2017

EDLD 7337 - Academic Writing & Research: Finding Sources

Welcome!

Essential Databases

Recommended Databases

Tutorials

Research/Instruction Librarian

Textbook