This is the "Active Learning" page of the "PACE Professional Development for Faculty" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

PACE Professional Development for Faculty   Tags: pace, pedagogy, professional development, self improvement, teaching methods, teaching strategies  

This guide is a collection of library resources designed to support faculty who want to explore alternate teaching methodologies.
Last Updated: Jul 16, 2014 URL: http://shsulibraryguides.org/pace Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Active Learning Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is Active Learning

 

Most Current Research Articles on Active Learning

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Library Books on Experiential Learning

Cover Art
Experiential Learning - Colin Beard; John P. Wilson
Call Number: BF318.5 .B43 2006 & Online Resource
Publication Date: 2006-05-03
This handbook pulls together for the first time both the theory and the practice of experiential learning and all types of learning that employ activity-based experience. Based on sound theoretical underpinning, and making full use of examples and guidance for successful implementation, Experiential Learning enables readers to unlease some of the more potent indgredients of learning through experience. 'Everything that can possibly provide, or affect, a learning experience, is discussed: most theories of learning, and every conceivable way to interest learners in an activity...Even very accomplished developers who prepare learning experiences for all types of learners, from grade level classes through executive seminars can undoubtedly find many ideas to expand the design options upon which they can draw.' Leadership and Organisational Development Journal. Previously known as The Power of Experiential Learning.

Cover Art
A Handbook of Reflective and Experiential Learning - Jennifer A. Moon
Call Number: Online Resource
Publication Date: 2004-04-23
Reflective and experiential learning are now common currency in education and training and are recognized as important tools. This handbook acts as an essential guide to understanding and using these techniques in educational and training contexts.

Cover Art
Playing with Purpose - Steve Hutchinson; Helen Lawrence
Publication Date: 2011-06-01
Playing with Purpose shows how a facilitator, coach, manager, people developer or trainer can invent or reinvigorate an artificial learning experience and make it so much more than a game.The authors understand that a sustainable, creative approach to experiential learning produces an active experience that is memorable. They show how you can get powerful lessons from the simplest of household and office objects and situations and look at a range of dilemmas, challenges and problems faced by anyone wanting to run memorable training sessions, classes and project meetings.

 

Library E-books on Active Learning

To access ebooks, click on the book title and then select the blue "Online Content" button. If you are off campus,  you will need to use your SHSU login information.

Cover Art
Action Learning and Its Applications - Robert L. Dilworth; Yuri Boshyk
Call Number: Online Resource
Select the "Online Content" button near the Holdings Box to access the item online.

Cover Art
Informed Design of Educational Technologies in Higher Education - Anders D. Olofsson (Editor); J. Ola Lindberg (Editor)
Publication Date: 2011-07-31

Chapter 16: Designing for Active Learning: Putting Learning into Context with Mobile Devices


Cover Art
Handbook of Research on Practices and Outcomes in E-Learning - Harrison Hao Yang (Editor); Steve Chi-Yin Yuen; Steve Chi-Yin Yuen (Editor)
Publication Date: 2009-10-31
The Handbook of Research on Practices and Outcomes in E-Learning: Issues and Trends provides a comprehensive view of conventional e-learning and innovative e-learning 2.0. Presenting cutting-edge research, case studies, and best practices, this defining reference source incorporates the latest and most discussed Web 2.0 technologies in educational learning and practice.

Cover Art
The Multiplayer Classroom - Lee Sheldon
ISBN: 9781435458451
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Select the "Online Content" button near the Holdings Box to access the item online.

Cover Art
E-tivities - Gilly Salmon
Publication Date: 2002-09-01

Beyond the hype of online learning lies a straightforward question: how do you really deliver worthwhile learning online? This book, based on action research, provides a simple answer to this fundamental question by exploring a key technique that enables teachers and learners to use available technologies happily and successfully.

So, what are e-tivities? They are motivating, engaging, purposeful activities developed and led by an e-moderator. They are frameworks for active and interactive online learning. E-tivities are in the hands of the teachers themselves and promote active e-learning.

This is not a book about the technology of online learning. Practical, accessible and direct, it looks at personalizing and customizing teaching and learning. Written for use in any topic, subject or course, E-tivities explores:

  • the importance of activities in online learning;
  • designing and running e-tivities;
  • the five-stage model of teaching and learning online.

Backed up extensive illustrations and case studies, and including a unique collection of 35 Resources for Practitioners, this is a book for all professionals involved in online learning.



Cover Art
Beyond Learning by Doing - Jay W. Roberts
Publication Date: 2011-08-18
What is experiential education? What are it theoretical roots? Where does this approach come from? Offering a fresh and distinctive take, this book is about going beyond "learning by doing" through an exploration of its underlying theoretical currents.

Cover Art
Inquiry-Guided Learning - TL (Teaching and Learning) Staff; Virginia S. Lee (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012-04-10
Is inquiry-guided learning a universal answer for various teaching and learning ills in higher education? With eight institutional case studies drawn from colleges and universities in English-speaking countries, this volume provides a clear description of inquiry-guided learning based on best practice. It also provides a window into the dynamics of undergraduate education reform using inquiry-guided learning, with a helpful final chapter that compares the eight institutions on key dimensions. This issue is a valuable resource for: Institutions attempting undergraduate reform through inquiry-guided learning Practitioners and scholars of inquiry-guided learning Instructors seeking good texts for courses on higher education administration Administrators seeking to understand and lead undergraduate education reform. This is the 129 th volume of this Jossey-Bass higher education series. New Directions for Teaching and Learning offers a comprehensive range of ideas and techniques for improving college teaching based on the experience of seasoned instructors and the latest findings of educational and psychological researchers.


 

Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System

 

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip