Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The DataONE Data Life Cycle
DataONE Data Life Cycle
The data life cycle provides a high level overview of the stages involved in successful management and preservation of data for use and reuse. Multiple versions of a data life cycle exist with differences attributable to variation in practices across domains or communities.
Data Management Standards and Best Practices
NISO Data Management Primer
Carly Strasser, National Information Standards Organization (NISO)
DataONE Data Management Best Practices Primer
For students and others new to data management, the Best Practices Primer provides an introduction to the DataONE Best Practices database and data management in general.
DataONE Data Management Best Practices Database
The DataONE Best Practices database provides individuals with recommendations on how to effectively work with their data through all stages of the data lifecycle. Users can access best practices within the database by either clicking on a stage of the lifecycle or selecting keywords under search.
ICPSR Data Management and Curation Guide
Inter-University Consortium for Social and Political Research
File Organization Best Practices
From Simmons University LIbrary
Guide to Writing "readme" Style Metadata
A readme file provides information about a data file and is intended to help ensure that the data can be correctly interpreted, by yourself at a later date or by others when sharing or publishing data. Template and best practices from the Research Data Management Service Group at Cornell University.
Data Management Training
Free, non-assessed course to help you understand how to manage the data you collect.
Data Management Workshop Slides from the MIT Libraries
Review the slides from data management workshops at MIT, ranging from Data Management 101, to File Organization, Using Metadata, Managing your Research Code, and more.
Research Data Management and Sharing (Coursera)
Free course on Coursera: "This course will provide learners with an introduction to research data management and sharing. After completing this course, learners will understand the diversity of data and their management needs across the research data lifecycle, be able to identify the components of good data management plans, and be familiar with best practices for working with data including the organization, documentation, and storage and security of data. Learners will also understand the impetus and importance of archiving and sharing data as well as how to assess the trustworthiness of repositories."
Data Management Association (DAMA)
Non-profit, independent association providing help and assistance to data professionals.
Data Management in Arts and Humanities
DARIAH (Digital Research Infrastructure for the Arts and Humanities) shares 2019 sessions (video recordings, slides, etc.) on Data in the Humanities, Data and Software citation practices, Open Research Notebooks, Copyright and (Open) Licensing, Data Management Plans, and Innovative publishing practices in the arts and humanities.