Skip to main content

Digital Collections

This guide is intended to teach you how to use the Newton Gresham Library's Digital Collections

Digital Collections

Purpose

This is a guide to teach you how to search Newton Gresham Library's Digital Collections and to provide useful information about the collections that we have made available online.

The material that can be found in Digital Collections ranges in topics and formats. A majority of the materials are digitized versions of material that can be found in Thomason Special Collections and University Archives. Because of the nature of archival material, they cannot be circulated amongst the public and are kept inside the Thomason Room and University Archives. Material that we deem to have high and interesting research value are digitized and provided online so the public can view the material without having to be in the library.

Other materials in the collection include materials published on campus by various departments such as LEMIT or the Center for Business & Economic Development. We have also partnered with institutions such as the Walker County Historical Commission and the Sam Houston Memorial Museum to make select historical materials available online.

How to Search Digital Collections

Home page

Click link to home page:

http://digital.library.shsu.edu/cdm

Search by Topic

Keyword

  • Type a keyword into the search box found at the top of the page
  • Select search (Searches entire collection)

Advanced Search

  • Select Advanced Search
  • Type in keyword and use filtering to determine the field that will be searched (Default is All Fields)
  • Use the Add or Remove collections button to determine which collections will be searched

Search by Collection

  • The home page contains a list of collections.
  • Read the description to see which collection may contain research materials that may be an interest to you

Landing Pages

  • Presents an overview of the collection
  • Displays recent additions to the collection
  • Using the search bar on a collection landing page will only search that collection

 

Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System