Research Guides: Fashion Promotion: Printed Materials

Books in the Library

The links below will take you directly to a list of books in the Library catalog that are about/related to the topic listed. You can click on any of the titles to read more information about the book as well as see the call number, which you need to locate the book in the building.

If you ever discover a book (or an article) the library does not have access to/own, you can try requesting the item through Interlibrary Loan. (Click the link to read more about this service: how to sign up for it & how to request items.)

Behind collections : graphic design and promotion for fashion brands
Call Number: HF6161 .C44 B44 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Lookbooks, show invitations, packaging and gift cards are important tools for communicating a fashion brands' aesthetic and point of view. Art directors and graphics designers collaborate with fashion designers, stylists, make-up artists, and photographers to create inspiring campaigns for each new collection. Behind Collections compiles an impressive range of creative and artistic promotional material designed for the fashion world. Designs for Hermés, Acne Studios, American Apparel, Mulberry, Jean Paul Gaultier, Basso & Brooke and many others are featured.
Global Fashion Brands
Publication Date: 2014
Fashion branding is more than just advertising. It helps to encourage the purchase and repurchase of consumer goods from the same company. While historically fashion branding has primarily focused on consumption and purchasing decisions, recent scholarship suggests that branding is a process that needs to be analyzed from a style, luxury, and historical pop cultural view using critical, ethnographic, individualistic, or interpretive methods. In this collection, the contributors explore the meaning behind fashion branding in the context of the contested power relations underpinning the production, marketing, and consumption of style and fashion as part of our global culture.

Reference Materials

These items are specifically reference materials, such as encyclopedias and handbooks. These are items to use for more background understanding of your subject. You don't necessarily want to rely on these as your sources to cite for papers, though that varies by professor and assignment.

Important: There are books to use in the Reference Area of the library (located on the 2nd floor) but these books can't be checked out. You can take photos, make photocopies or scans, and move around the building with them.

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Not a book, but to be used to understand more about a topic or find more books and articles that are important and relevant to your research.

Perform a search for the word "fashion" and you will retrieve results on historical costuming, textiles, specific items such as silk, and particular fashion design from various time periods and countries. The results will provide you with annotated bibliographies on the topics (so you can read about the content contained and then search the library to see if the items are available) and a brief and scholarly overview of the topic which includes timelines and important ideas.
Gale Ebooks (*formerly* Gale Virtual Reference Library - GVRL) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of ebooks (primarily reference) in almost all subjects, which are searchable together or individually. For a list of titles currently available, click on "Title List" at top right.
Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
Simultaneously search articles in over 50,000 specialized subject encyclopedias and scholarly compendia, both print and digital. This resource gives you full access to the library's authoritative collection of introductory content, helping you to save time and obtain a full grounding in your topic.

Magazines

If you want to find magazines to look through their ads, consider using some of the databases that have full collections of a magazine, such as Vogue (listed on the database page). Or you can do a Title Search in the library catalog.

Below I'm looking for the magazine Women's Wear Daily. I do a title search.

When I get my results, I can see on the right the kind of items that are under that title (underlined in red).

The next step is to either click on "online content" to enter the online view and perform searches inside the database or inside the online periodical/magazine.

Or I can click on the title of the item and look at the record and find where the item is located so I can look at it.