GeoRef and GeoRef in ProcessThis link opens in a new windowGeoRef contains citations for journals plus numerous conference papers, theses, and other publications in the fields of geology, geophysics, and paleontology. Citations cover the years 1785-present for geology of North America and the years 1933-present for geology of other areas worldwide.
ScienceDirectThis link opens in a new windowScienceDirect is the world's largest scientific database. ScienceDirect provides full-text access to journals in various science disciplines. Note: Does not support IE 8 or older versions.
General Science Full TextThis link opens in a new windowGeneral Science Full Text is a database that provides the full text of selected periodicals. Coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals in the sciences.
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowProvides full text for thousands of academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education, and multi-cultural journals, along with indexing and abstracts for thousands more.
AGRICOLAThis link opens in a new windowMillions of citations from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, covering all areas of agriculture, forestry, and animal science. Includes journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
Annual Reviews Science CollectionThis link opens in a new windowAnnual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Volumes are published each year for focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences, including Economics, Psychology, Sociology, and others. There will be new password requirements beginning 1/10/17.
Education SourceThis link opens in a new windowInternational array of English-language journals, monographs, yearbooks and more, covering all levels of educationfrom early childhood to higher educationas well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Electronic Collections OnlineThis link opens in a new windowScholarly journals from 1995 to early 2012 (content addition ceased Feb 1, 2012). Provides indexing, abstracts, and limited full text for journals in most subject areas.
Website providing searchable database of towns and cities in the U.S. Includes a brief profile, followed by links to local events, genealogy, government, statistics, museums and colleges, festivals, historic sites and neighborhoods, moving guides, postcards, churches, politics, etc.
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Clearinghouse)This link opens in a new windowCovers all areas of education, 1966 to the present, including research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. Links to many full-text documents since 1993. NOTE: The SHSU Library also owns ERIC on microfiche back to 1963.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowHuge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.
Marcive Web DocsThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to citations and cataloging information for publications issued by the U.S. Government Printing Office. This includes U.S. government agencies and their departments. MARCIVE indexes Senate and House hearings, agency-sponsored studies, fact sheets, maps, handbooks, subject bibliographies, and conference proceedings dated 1976 to the present.
WorldCat (FirstSearch)This link opens in a new windowCombined catalog for tens of thousands of libraries around the world. Books, journals, musical scores, computer data files, magazines, newspapers, computer programs, manuscript/archive collections, sound recordings, films/slides, maps, video.
Reference UniverseThis link opens in a new windowSimultaneously search articles in over 50,000 specialized subject encyclopedias and scholarly compendia, both print and digital. This resource gives you full access to the library's authoritative collection of introductory content, helping you to save time and obtain a full grounding in your topic.
EndNote Web is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds. EndNote Web is a free version of EndNote.
Instant access to thousands of educational films, ranging from almost every academic discipline to life-skills content. Select films include closed-captioning and/or interactive text transcripts. Roll over the video player and click ""CC"" button at upper right for captions.
Academic Video Online: PremiumThis link opens in a new windowThousands of hours of streaming video in most disciplines. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.
This government website serves as a public gateway for improving access to geospatial information and data. The portal is a catalog of geospatial information containing thousands of metadata records (information about the data) and links to live maps, features, and catalog services, downloadable data sets, images, clearinghouses, map files, and more.
This website from the Texas General Land Office provides a wide variety of downloaded GIS data sets related to the state. Maps and data are provided in the following subject areas: energy resources, professional services, oil spills and coastal response, and coastal management.
This resource, prepared by the City of Huntsville, Texas, GIS division, provides a variety of GIS maps and reports on topics such as FEMA flood review, planning & development, property, and mapping control.