Skip to Main Content
An SHSU username and password are required to access these online collections.
Primary Source Collections Online
American Lumberman Photographs of Southern Pine Company
Taken in 1903 and 1907, these 255 gelatin silver prints were originally published in American Lumberman, a weekly trade journal. The majority of the shots document lumber production activities near Diboll in East Texas, including log cutting, transportation, sawmills, and kilns. The collection also provides a glimpse of everyday life in a company town and in the logging camps. (Univ.of North Texas)
Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Plans and Drawings
3900 large-format drawings documenting park development and construction activities by the CCC in Texas from 1933-1958. (Texas State Library and Archives Commission)
Historic Flags of Texas
(Texas State Library and Archives Commission)
Texas Historic Sites
(Texas Historical Commission)
Portraits of Texas Governors
Biographies of all of the governors of Texas, complete with official portraits, timeline of events, revealing documents, and rare photos. (Texas State Library and Archives Commission)
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps of Texas (1877-1922)
Various Sanborn fire insurance maps for cities across Texas. (Univ. of Texas)
Explore the U.S. census, 1790-2009, with over 15,000 demographic and socio-economic maps.
Texas Almanac Online
In addition to the site's current information, the archive
contains all the Almanacs from 1857 to 1989.
(Texas State Historical Commission)
Texas Historic Sites Atlas
Provided by the Texas Historic Commission, the Atlas provides descriptions, photographs, and maps of all Official Texas Historical Markers and National Register of Historic Places properties in Texas, as well as courthouses, museums, and sawmills across the state, nearly 300,000 sites in all.
Texas Slavery Project
Interactive maps illustrate data on slavery in Texas' history. (Univ. of Virginia)