Social Science Electronic Data Library (SSEDL)This link opens in a new windowProvides access to hundreds of premier datasets and thousands of variables. Each dataset is structured identically and includes the raw data file, SPSS program statements, SAS program statement, SPSS data dictionary, SPSS frequencies, SPSS portable file, and a User's Guide.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)This link opens in a new windowThe Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides data resources, data delivery mechanisms, user support and training in quantitative methods. The data is acquired from individual researchers, governmental agencies, polling agencies and international sources. Provides data in SAS, SPSS and Stata data files.
SocINDEXThis link opens in a new windowComprehensive and high-quality sociology research database containing informative abstracts for "core" journals dating as far back as 1895. Also includes extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowHuge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowProvides full text for thousands of academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education, and multi-cultural journals, along with indexing and abstracts for thousands more.
Annual Reviews Science CollectionThis link opens in a new windowAnnual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Volumes are published each year for focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences, including Economics, Psychology, Sociology, and others. There will be new password requirements beginning 1/10/17.
Business Continuity & Disaster Recovery Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowA full-text database designed to support continuity experts and information professionals. It covers all aspects of business continuity and disaster recovery (BC/DR), including risk evaluation, emergency preparedness and crisis communications.
CountryWatchThis link opens in a new windowUp-to-date news, reviews, and statistics on social, political, cultural, historical, economic, environmental, and demographic intelligence on recognized countries of the world. Includes maps and global guides on emerging international issues.
GreenFILEThis link opens in a new windowGreenFILE focuses on environmental topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. In addition to government documents and reports, includes abstracts for more than 600 scholarly and general interest titles.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective, 1907-1984This link opens in a new windowHumanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (OVIC)This link opens in a new windowLibrary of current event topics, including the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Viewpoint articles allow students to explore each topic's many facets. Also features statistics and government data placed in context.
Polling the NationsThis link opens in a new windowPolling the Nations is a compilation of thousands of surveys conducted by hundreds of polling organizations in the United States and other countries. Access more than 750,000 original poll questions and results from 18,000+ surveys conducted in the U.S. and 100+ other countries from 1986 to the present.
Project MUSEThis link opens in a new windowFull-text journals in many disciplines across the sciences and humanities. SHSU subscribes to "Project Muse Premium."
PsycARTICLESThis link opens in a new windowA source for full-text, peer-reviewed articles in psychology and the behavioral sciences, containing all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from numerous journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprints, and allied organizations.
PsycINFOThis link opens in a new windowPsycINFO(R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Sage Premier / Sage Journals OnlineThis link opens in a new windowSAGE Premier provides access to hundreds of SAGE journal titles in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences, with backfile to 1999.
Social Sciences Full TextThis link opens in a new windowContains both scholarly (peer-reviewed) and trade journal articles covering topics such as management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and much more. One of the largest business article databases at the Library; most articles are full-text.
Wiley Online LibraryThis link opens in a new windowSearch and browse millions of articles from thousands of journals, books, and other materials in the areas of life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Subjects range from Agriculture, Business, and Chemistry to Criminology, Nursing, and Psychology.
Online Video Databases
Academic Video Online: PremiumThis link opens in a new windowThousands of hours of streaming video in most disciplines. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.
Current Affairs in VideoThis link opens in a new window500+ hours of award-winning films and documentaries provide an interdisciplinary, multi-regional look at core areas such as environmental policy; health policy; human rights, international justice and terrorism; institutional corruption; migration and the global economy; poverty; religious tension and conflict
Ethnographic Video Online (Volumes I-II)This link opens in a new windowVisual study of human culture and behavior, containing 1,000+ hours of classic and contemporary documentaries produced by leading video producers in the discipline; select feature films; and previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field and from renowned anthropological archives.
Instant access to thousands of educational films, ranging from almost every academic discipline to life-skills content. Select films include closed-captioning and/or interactive text transcripts. Roll over the video player and click ""CC"" button at upper right for captions.
Health and Society in VideoThis link opens in a new windowDefines and explores todays latest medical progress in health and wellness issues and their impact on society--with hundreds of premium documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews.
Kanopy Streaming VideoThis link opens in a new windowThis platform provides access to various films which SHSU has individually licensed or purchased, as listed on the homepage. Please Note: Searching or browsing may display other films as "available for request," but they are not immediately accessible at SHSU.
NOTE: There is limited support on Internet Explorer, so we recommend using Chrome or Firefox (Safari or Edge if available) to stream videos on Kanopy.
LGBT Studies in VideoThis link opens in a new windowFeatures award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.