Research Guides: School of Nursing Guide: Medication and Dietary Supplements

Librarian

Lisa Connor

Contact:

936-294-3527
lconnor@shsu.edu

Medication Resources: Databases

Medication Resources: Websites

DailyMed
Provides current information on over 35,000 prescription and nonprescription drugs. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, this huge database contains all the information supplied on FDA package inserts.

Dietary Supplement Fact Sheets

Evidence-based summaries for health professionals and consumers on specific vitamins, minerals, herbs, and other dietary supplements. Fact sheets cover health effects, safety, recommended amounts, interactions with medicines, and other topics.

This collection of fact sheets and other resources from the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements and other federal government sources presents information about dietary supplements and their ingredients. These include vitamins, minerals, herbs and botanicals, probiotics, and more. Many of these resources are available in versions written for consumers (in both English and Spanish) and also for health professionals.

General Supplement Information

Dietary Supplements

Dietary Supplement Label Database
The National Institutes of Health's Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD) includes current and historical label information from products marketed in the U.S.
NIH - Office of Dietary Supplements
ODS supports research and provides up-to-date scientific information about dietary supplements.
Operation Supplement Safety Department of Defense
OPSS’s mission is to provide the best evidence-based information about dietary supplements to Service Members, their families, healthcare providers, and leaders to achieve human performance optimization. Many Service Members use dietary supplements—to promote health, improve performance, bodybuilding, lose weight, and more. Unfortunately, some supplements can compromise rather than improve performance. Our goal is to provide the tools and resources to help users make informed decisions about dietary supplements to optimize their health, performance, and careers.