Primary Nursing and Health Journal Article Databases
The Newton Gresham Library subscribes to several journal article databases relevant to nursing. Names of databases along with a short description and a link to the database are listed below.
Remember, if you are off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your computer account username and password.
PubMedThis link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Cochrane LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThe gold-standard in Evidence-Based Practice documentation for Nursing, Health and all healthcare related disciplines. Providing high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, including: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; Cochrane Methodology Register; Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE); Health Technology Assessment Database; and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic EditionThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to scholarly, full-text journals focusing on many medical and nursing topics. Additionally this database features the AHFS Consumer Medication guide, which is a recognized standard for patient drug information in both English and Spanish.
MEDLINEThis link opens in a new windowHuge database of bio-medicine, veterinary medicine, nursing, dentistry, pre-clinical sciences, and other allied health science disciplines. Provides some full text via open access titles.
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health SourceThis link opens in a new windowProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more.
ScienceDirectThis link opens in a new windowScienceDirect is the world's largest scientific database. ScienceDirect provides full-text access to journals in various science disciplines. Note: Does not support IE 8 or older versions.
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowWeb of Science provides cover-to-cover indexing in journals from a full range of disciplines, from 1984 to the present. Made up of Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, each index is a true cited reference index, with citation counts and the ability to trace research forward or backward in time. Links are provided when full-text access is available.
Additional Health Databases
Health Reference Center AcademicThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides indexing, abstracts and some full text for journals and magazines in the health sciences. Designed for allied health science students as well as informed consumer health researchers.
Health Source: Consumer EditionThis link opens in a new windowA consumer-focused database with a large collection of health information, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health, with access to full-text, consumer health magazines.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)This link opens in a new window(number of simultaneous users is limited)
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI), produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.
CDC WONDERWide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research -- an easy-to-use, menu-driven system that makes the information resources of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) available to public health professionals and the public at large. It provides access to a wide array of public health information.
Nutrition Care ManualThis link opens in a new window(number of simultaneous users is limited)
The ADA Nutrition Care Manual (NCM), published by the American Dietetic Association for dietitians, dietetic technicians, and related health care professionals, provides a comprehensive source of research-based nutrition information and tools designed to be used in a clinical setting.
Merck ManualThis link opens in a new windowOne of the most popular general medicine resources on-line. This electronic version provides the same information as found in the 1999, 17th print edition. There is both a search engine and a Table of Contents for browsing subjects.
Health and Society in VideoThis link opens in a new windowDefines and explores todays latest medical progress in health and wellness issues and their impact on society--with hundreds of premium documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews.
Academic Video Online: PremiumThis link opens in a new windowThousands of hours of streaming video in most disciplines. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.
Instant access to thousands of educational films, ranging from almost every academic discipline to life-skills content. Select films include closed-captioning and/or interactive text transcripts. Roll over the video player and click ""CC"" button at upper right for captions.
Nursing Education in VideoThis link opens in a new windowNursing Education in Video: Third Edition is an up-to-date collection of demonstration and training videos designed to help students improve their clinical skills. This resource provides access to Medcom's complete collection of 300+ full-length training videos allowing your patrons anytime, anywhere access to the latest resources available for nurse training so they can provide the best possible patient care.
This platform provides access to various films which SHSU has individually licensed or purchased, as listed on the homepage. Please Note: Searching or browsing may display other films as "available for request," but they are not immediately accessible at SHSU.
NOTE: There is limited support on Internet Explorer, so we recommend using Chrome or Firefox (Safari or Edge if available) to stream videos on Kanopy.