Research Guides: Dance Research Guide: Find Articles

Librarian

Bruce D. Hall

Contact:

936-294-4800
936-294-3780 (fax)
lib_bdh@shsu.edu
NGL 108 (Music Listening Room)

Primary Dance Databases

OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition This link opens in a new window Provides indexing, abstracts, and full text for journals in almost all subject areas.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Full-text journals in many disciplines across the sciences and humanities. SHSU subscribes to "Project Muse Premium."
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window Provides many of the most important academic journals in the humanities. Includes feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Huge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.
Dissertations and Theses Full Text This link opens in a new window Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts (does not include SHSU master's theses). Many are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate download.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (part of Web of Science) This link opens in a new window Covers leading arts and humanities journals and selected articles from social science and science journals. Indexes articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews, and more in arts, humanities, and related social science and science information.

More Databases

New York Times Historical, 1851 to 3 years ago This link opens in a new window Every page of every issue of the New York Times, from 1851 until approximately 3 years ago.
Sports Medicine & Education Index (formerly Physical Education Index) This link opens in a new window Sports Medicine & Education Index allows all researchers and professionals in the field to acquire accurate and scholarly information in this comprehensive database. These abstracts feature a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. Health education and physical therapy are also covered as they continue to become more prevalent in our society.
Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Provides over a million citations for items from thousands of journals and series published worldwide; indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Clearinghouse) This link opens in a new window Covers all areas of education, 1966 to the present, including research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. Links to many full-text documents since 1993. NOTE: The SHSU Library also owns ERIC on microfiche back to 1963.
British Periodicals I & II This link opens in a new window British periodicals, late 17th to early 20th centuries. History of Britain and its colonies, as well as a British view of events in America and the world.
Vogue Archive (1892-present) This link opens in a new window Entire run of Vogue magazine from 1892-present, including text, images, captions, advertisements, covers, and fold-outs. Useful for researching fashion design and marketing, popular culture, photography and visual arts, gender, social history, designing period costumes, and more.
Artstor Digital Library This link opens in a new window Provides over 1.6 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window Includes the full-text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. Updated regularly. Only a limited number of people may use this database at one time. If you cannot connect, try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.
Health Reference Center Academic This link opens in a new window This database provides indexing, abstracts and some full text for journals and magazines in the health sciences. Designed for allied health science students as well as informed consumer health researchers.
- This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window Comprehensive and high-quality sociology research database containing informative abstracts for "core" journals dating as far back as 1895. Also includes extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources.
Google Scholar (customized to link to SHSU resources) This link opens in a new window Google Scholar uses the familiar Google interface to search citations of scholarly books and articles. By using Google Scholar through this custom link on the library's website, your search results will automatically include links to online content owned by SHSU.
WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window Combined catalog for tens of thousands of libraries around the world. Books, journals, musical scores, computer data files, magazines, newspapers, computer programs, manuscript/archive collections, sound recordings, films/slides, maps, video.

Quick Searches

Online Video

Dance in Video (Volumes I-II) This link opens in a new window Hundreds of hours of productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th and 21st centuries, featuring ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance.
Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window Thousands of hours of streaming video in most disciplines. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Read Quick-Start: How to Link to a Film, or Films on Demand: A Guide for SHSU Users
Instant access to thousands of educational films, ranging from almost every academic discipline to life-skills content. Select films include closed-captioning and/or interactive text transcripts. Roll over the video player and click ""CC"" button at upper right for captions.