Skip to main content

Poetry Research Guide

Subject Terms

These are only a selection of subject terms. You can also try searching keywords or using the country or time period related to the poet/poem/poetry you're looking for.

Ballades
Ballads
Bards and bardism
Bathetic poetry
Centos
Children's poetry
Christian poetry
Clerihews
College verse
Concrete poetry
Eddas
Elegiac poetry
Epic poetry
Epigrams
Erotic poetry
Experimental poetry
Fairy poetry
Feminist poetry
Free verse
Haiku
Humorous poetry
Hymns
Imagist poetry
Limericks
Liturgy and poetry
Love poetry
Lyric poetry
Macaronic literature
Macaronic poetry
Madrigals
Narrative poetry
Odes
Pastoral poetry
Patriotic poetry
Poetry of places
Political poetry
Prose poems
Religion and poetry
Religious poetry
Rondeaus
Scalds and scaldic poetry
School verse
Science fiction poetry
Sea poetry
Sestinas
Society verse
Sound poetry
Titles of poems
War poetry
Young adult poetry

Quick Searches

Poetry & Short Story Reference Center:

 

Search full text or abstracts of articles journals such as Feminist Review, The English Journal, World Literature Today, Poetry, Poetics Today, and more.

 

 

Search full text or abstracts of articles journals such as Callaloo, Victorian Poetry, American Literary Scholarship, Narrative, The Yale Journal of Criticism and more.

Search full text or abstracts of articles journals such as Early American Literature, Journal of Modern Literature, College English and more.


Academic Search Complete:

 

SHSU logoGoogle Scholar

Search for articles, documents, books, etc. Includes legal opinions & journals. Links to full text owned by SHSU.

 

Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System