Research Guides: Music Research Guide: Find Articles and More

Librarian

Bruce D. Hall

Contact:

936-294-4800
936-294-3780 (fax)
lib_bdh@shsu.edu
NGL 108 (Music Listening Room)

Primary Music Databases

Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window Includes the full-text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. Updated regularly. Only a limited number of people may use this database at one time. If you cannot connect, try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.
Encyclopedia of Popular Music This link opens in a new window Authoritative biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists covers popular music from 1900 to the present, including folk, blues, world music, rock, heavy metal, techno, reggae, and hip hop. Only a limited number of people may use this database at one time. If you cannot connect, please try again later. Please be sure to logout when you have finished.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music This link opens in a new window A comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. Provides essays, images, and audio examples, including entries by expert contributors from all over the world.
IPA Source: IPA Transcriptions and Literal Translations of Songs and Arias This link opens in a new window IPA Source is the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Provides thousands of texts, including hundreds of aria texts.
Library Music Source This link opens in a new window The complete or nearly complete published works of the world's great composers for orchestra, chamber ensemble, piano, organ, voice, chorus, strings, winds, percussion and guitar. Hundreds of thousands of sheet music pages, including the entire piano works of Chopin, all the songs of Schubert, all the organ music of J. S. Bach, and all the orchestra parts and scores of Beethoven, to cite only a few examples.
SingersBabel This link opens in a new window
SingersBabel helps musicians gain an awareness of the synergy of words and music by integrating traditional teaching tools with established technology. Developed through work with diction specialists, SingersBabel includes tools to teach and refine pronunciation, enhance comprehension, understand changes in language, improve diction, and understand and evaluate diverse viewpoints.
Recent Researches in Music Online (RRIMO) This link opens in a new window Online access to all titles published in 2018 and later in the seven Recent Researches in Music series: Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Classical, 19th/20th centuries, American (including MUSA), and Oral Traditions. Publication rate is 15–20 new titles per year (≈ 4000 pages). Online titles will be available at the same time as the print publication.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window RILM Abstracts of Music Literature covers all types of publications on music, published anywhere in the world and in any language. The document types covered by RILM include all print and digital media. It indexes literature on music published since the early 19th century. Conference proceedings are indexed back to 1835, and Festschriften to1840.
MGG Online (Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart) This link opens in a new window MGG Online is the preeminent digital encyclopedia for music researchers worldwide. It builds on the second edition of Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG, 1994–2008), offering new and substantially updated content as well as continuous updates, revisions, and additions.

IMSLP: International Music Score Library Project IMSLP is a source for more than 200,000 musical scores. Additionally, IMSLP scores can be downloaded directly into piaScore, a free iPad app for viewing and annotating scores.

Additional Databases

Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window Journal articles, 1802-2000, international and in many subject areas. Journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Huge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.
OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition This link opens in a new window Provides indexing, abstracts, and full text for journals in almost all subject areas.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Full-text journals in many disciplines across the sciences and humanities. SHSU subscribes to "Project Muse Premium."
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (part of Web of Science) This link opens in a new window Covers leading arts and humanities journals and selected articles from social science and science journals. Indexes articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews, and more in arts, humanities, and related social science and science information.
Reference Universe This link opens in a new window Simultaneously search articles in over 50,000 specialized subject encyclopedias and scholarly compendia, both print and digital. This resource gives you full access to the library's authoritative collection of introductory content, helping you to save time and obtain a full grounding in your topic.
EndNote Web This link opens in a new window
Introduction & Instructions; Create an account off-campus with PC.
EndNote Web is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds. EndNote Web is a free version of EndNote.

Online Music Recordings

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window (number of simultaneous users is limited) Naxos Music Library provides online access to well over one million tracks in classical, jazz, world, classic rock, and nostalgia music. Also includes music notes, instrumentation, CD cover artwork, synopses and libretti for 700+ operas, more than 40,000 composer and artist biographies, and more.
A free Naxos app is available from both iTunes and Google Play. (Watch this video for help setting up the app.)
Naxos Music Library: Jazz This link opens in a new window (number of simultaneous users is limited) Tracks from more than 6,000 CDs of both jazz legends and contemporary jazz, including famous names and independent labels.

Online Video

Met Opera on Demand This link opens in a new window Unlimited access to more than 500 performances from the Metropolitan Opera. This resource is limited to ten users at a time.
Opera in Video This link opens in a new window 500 hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the worlds best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a works importance to the operatic canon.
Classical Music in Video This link opens in a new window Will contain 1,000 hours of classical music performances and masterclasses captured on videoapproximately 1,500 performances in all.
Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window Thousands of hours of streaming video in most disciplines. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.