Research Guides: Art Research Guide: Art Databases

Databases for Scholarly Articles

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window International coverage of journals, books, and more, covering a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Huge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Full-text journals in many disciplines across the sciences and humanities. SHSU subscribes to "Project Muse Premium."
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (part of Web of Science) This link opens in a new window Covers leading arts and humanities journals and selected articles from social science and science journals. Indexes articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews, and more in arts, humanities, and related social science and science information.
ArticleFIRST This link opens in a new window Index of articles from journals in several disciplines, including business, science, humanities, social science, medicine, technology, and popular culture.

Bibliographies & Reference Sources

These resources are to help you in the brainstorming process. They are intended to assist you learn more about your topic as well as perhaps guide you to creating more specific research questions or a thesis statement.

If you need more help with understanding how bibliographies specifically can help you and how to read/find them, visit this guide on bibliographies:

https://shsulibraryguides.org/bibliography_research

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window These authoritative guides combine the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia in these 14 subject areas: American Literature; Art History; Atlantic History; British and Irish Literature; Childhood Studies; Cinema & Media Studies; Criminology; Education; Medieval Studies; Military History; Music; Psychology; Sociology; Victorian Literature.
Oxford Index This link opens in a new window Oxford Index provides digital editions of many of Oxford's most acclaimed scholarly and reference works, including Oxford Bibliographies, Oxford English Dictionary Online, and Grove Music Online.

Bibliography of the History of Art (Getty) The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) for no charge on its Web site. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.

Databases for Images

Artstor Digital Library This link opens in a new window Provides over 1.6 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
Vogue Archive (1892-present) This link opens in a new window Entire run of Vogue magazine from 1892-present, including text, images, captions, advertisements, covers, and fold-outs. Useful for researching fashion design and marketing, popular culture, photography and visual arts, gender, social history, designing period costumes, and more.
Romanticism: Life, Literature, and Landscape This link opens in a new window Notebooks, manuscripts, correspondence, and other primary documents of major writers and artists in the Romanticism movement. Also includes secondary-source scholarly essays, map, chronology, and more.
Access the working notebooks, verse manuscripts, and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers, including Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey, as well as works by artists as J.M.W. Turner, John Constable, and Benjamin Robert Haydon.
Primary documents include verse manuscripts, printed manuscripts, prose manuscripts, printed verse, correspondence, diaries, travel journals, autograph albums, guide books, fine art, and maps.
Also includes secondary-source scholarly essays, interactive map, chronology, and more.

Databases for Videos

Art and Architecture in Video This link opens in a new window Over 500 hours of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis
Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window Thousands of hours of streaming video in most disciplines. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Read Quick-Start: How to Link to a Film, or Films on Demand: A Guide for SHSU Users
Instant access to thousands of educational films, ranging from almost every academic discipline to life-skills content. Select films include closed-captioning and/or interactive text transcripts. Roll over the video player and click ""CC"" button at upper right for captions.