Skip to Main Content
Ask a Librarian
CALL 936-294-1614 or
Best Bet Databases
Biography Index Past and Present This link opens in a new window Biography Index Past and Present is a bibliographic database that cites biographical material appearing in selected periodicals, current books of individual and collective biography, and incidental biographical material in otherwise non-biographical books. Periodicals cover all major subject areas. Biographical subjects indexed range from antiquity to the present and represent all fields and nationalities.
Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window (number of simultaneous users is limited)
An illustrated collection of specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past since the fourth century BC.
Encyclopedia Britannica / Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Britannica Academic Edition includes the Encyclopedia Britannica (with tens of thousands of articles and biographies), as well as a world atlas; current and past statistics on the countries of the world; a dictionary, thesaurus, and quotation dictionary from Merriam-Webster; daily headlines from the BBC and New York Times; and more.
Author / Literary Biographies
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online This link opens in a new window Complete online access to all volumes of the Dictionary of Literary Biography, the main series, as well as the Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series and the Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook Series. Provides comprehensive literary biographies of past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights, with coverage of lives and careers as well as the critical response to their works.