The Main Collection houses thousands of books in the field of crime, delinquency, criminal justice, criminology, corrections, and law enforcement. Use the Online Catalog to search for books by subject, author, or title.
Extremist Groups Information for Students by Contains approximately 150 entries each covering an extremist group or terrorist organization. Information includes history, philosophy, and organization of groups.
Call Number: HN90 .R3 E975 2006
Publication Date: 2006-04-14
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice by Deals with not only law but also sociology, psychology, history and economics.
Call Number: HV6017 .E52 2002
Publication Date: 2001-10-15
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behaviour by Covers a multitude of topics related to criminology, deviant behavior, and other unusual sociological phenomena. Each entry includes a comprehensive definition of the term, concise practical information (such as tables and/or diagrams) and a bibliography.
Call Number: HV6017 .E53 2001
Publication Date: 2000-11-10
Encyclopedia of Theoretical Criminology by Offers a global perspective from an international team of leading scholars, including coverage of the strong and rapidly growing body of work on criminology in Europe and other areas. Includes coverage of theories of justice, crime, applied criminology, and traditional and alternative criminological theories.
Call Number: HV6017 .E536 2014
Publication Date: 2014-04-07
The Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment by The Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment provides comprehensive reference for a vast number of topics relevant to crime and punishment with a unique focus on the multi/interdisciplinary and international aspects of these topics and historical perspectives on crime and punishment around the world.
Call Number: HV6017 .E5243 2016
Publication Date: 2016-01-19
The SAGE Handbook of Criminological Research Methods by Focuses on the application of methods to address the core substantive questions that currently motivate contemporary criminological research. Chapters in each section illustrate the techniques (qualitative and quantitative) that are commonly applied in empirical studies, as well as the logic of criminological enquiry.
Call Number: HV6024.5 .S24 2012
Publication Date: 2011-11-09
21st Century Criminology by Provides straightforward and definitive overviews of 100 key topics comprising traditional criminology and its modern outgrowths. The individual chapters have been designed to serve as a "first-look" reference source for most criminological inquires. Offers a comprehensive overview of the current state of criminology.
Call Number: HV6025 .A155 2009
Publication Date: 2009-08-06
The Oxford Handbook of Criminology by Provides reviews of diverse topics such as public views about crime and justice, youth crime and justice and state crime and human rights. Encapsulates the latest developments in the academic and practical spheres of criminology.
Call Number: HV6025 .O87 2012
Publication Date: 2012-05-23
The Routledge International Handbook of Biosocial Criminology by Combines perspectives from criminology and sociology with contributions from fields such as genetics, neuropsychology, and evolutionary psychology. Organized into five sections that collectively span the terrain of biosocial research on antisocial behavior and considers the criminological, genetic and neuropsychological foundations of offending, as well as the legal and criminal justice applications of biosocial criminological theory.
Call Number: HV6025 .R697 2015
Publication Date: 2014-12-23
Violence Against Girls and Women by Covers a broad scope of topics from violence against girls before birth, in childhood, and throughout women's adult lives. Presents valuable perspective from contributors who are members of NGOs working at the UN providing an informed focus on international issues.
Call Number: HV6250.4 .G57 V558 2013
Publication Date: 2013-08-27
Encyclopedia of School Crime and Violence by Provides a thorough compilation of the types, specific incidents, relevant agencies, theories, responses, and prevention programs relevant to crime and violence in schools and on campuses. Contains over 80 entries on types, incidents, theories, measurement, responses, and prevention of school crime and violence.
Call Number: HV6250.4 .S78 E53 2011
Publication Date: 2011-09-13
Crime Classification Manual by Provides critical information on major crimes, which improve the user's ability to assess and evaluate. Standardizes the language, terminology, and classifications used throughout the criminal justice system. Arranged according to the primary intent of the criminal, it features the language, terms, and classifications the criminal justice system and allied fields use as they work to protect society from criminal behavior. Useful in investigating and classifying violent crimes.
Call Number: HV6253 .C75 2013
Publication Date: 2013-04-15
The Counterterrorism Handbook by Updated to reflect an increased focus on terrorism in public transportation, this resource provides an understanding of the strategies, tactics, and techniques required to tackle terrorism as it exists today. It also presents case studies of some of the most notorious terrorist incidents, including both World Trade Center attacks, Oklahoma City, Centennial Olympic Park, the U.S. Embassy, the U.S.S. Cole, and attacks in Madrid, London, and Glasgow.
Call Number: HV6421 .B65 2012
Publication Date: 2011-07-26
Encyclopedia of Terrorism by Offers comprehensive treatments of the events, people, organizations, and places that have played a major role in international terrorism. Each entry is placed within its appropriate historical context to help readers understand the wide-ranging motivations behind terrorist actions. Also included is a chronology of terrorist events that have occurred from 1945 to the present.
Call Number: HV6431 .C65 2007
Publication Date: 2007-03-01
Counterterrorism by Examines modern nation-state legislative, diplomatic, military, and non-military attempts to combat terrorism within and outside state borders. Addressed counterterrorism efforts employed by the international community prior to and following the events of September 11, 2001. Also includes an evaluation of the evolution and effectiveness of select nation-state counterterrorism policies post-1945.
Call Number: HV6431 .C69143 2012
Publication Date: 2012-08-17
Encyclopedia of Terrorism by Reference tool for understanding the latest developments in national and international terrorism. Contains more than 500 entries on topics in modern-day terrorism as well as a bibliography listing major literacy sources.
Call Number: HV6431 .E534 2013
Publication Date: 2012-11-21
Terrorism, 2008-2012 by Provides coverage of every international terrorist attack covered in public literature--including newspapers, news magazines, radio, television, websites, and other media--from 2008 through 2012, plus updates on events that occurred before that period. It notes trends in suicide bombings, violence against Western and local hostages, letter bombs, food tampering, major assassinations, and other attacks by terrorists of all stripes. Changes in security measures around the world are also included.
Call Number: HV6431 .M4995 2014
Publication Date: 2014-02-26
World Terrorism by
Call Number: HV6431 .W67 2011
Publication Date: 2011-08-26
Counterterrorism by Unclassified guide to the many U.S. government agencies, bureau offices, and programs involved in all aspects of countering terrorism domestically and overseas. The authors, veterans of the U.S. government's counterterrorism efforts, present an insider's view of the counterterrorism effort, addressing such topics as government training initiatives, weapons of mass destruction, interagency coordination, research and development, and the congressional role in policy and budget issues.
Call Number: HV6432 .K69 2012
Publication Date: 2011-12-13
Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence and Abuse by Examines domestic abuse in the United States and worldwide, providing research, personal stories, and primary documents that reveal the extent of the problem. Presents personal narratives that highlight the importance of each survivor's unique experience with abuse. Includes primary source documents that address key legislation and court cases.
Call Number: HV6626 .E535 2013
Publication Date: 2013-07-16
Identity Theft by Comprehensive examination of different forms of identity theft and its economic impact, including profiles of perpetrators and victims and coverage of current trends, security implications, prevention efforts, and legislative actions. Includes a chronology of key decisions, cases, and government action in the development of identity theft policy.
Call Number: HV6675 .H65 2010
Publication Date: 2009-12-14
Cyber Crime by Explores all aspects of computer-based crime and threats, offering solutions and best practices from experts in software development, information security, and law. As cyber crime continues to change and new types of threats emerge, research focuses on developing a critical understanding of different types of attacks and how they can best be managed and eliminated.
Call Number: HV6773 .C914 2012
Publication Date: 2011-11-30
Handbook of Research on Civil Society and National Security in the Era of Cyber Warfare by Addresses the problem of cyber terrorism, first through a review of current literature, and then through a series of progressive proposals aimed at researchers, professionals, and policymakers. Touching on such subjects as cyber-profiling, hacktivism, and digital counterterrorism, this collection offers the tools to begin formulating a ground-up resiliency to cybersecurity threats that starts at the civilian level.
Call Number: HV6773.15 .C97 H36 2016
Publication Date: 2015-10-31
Crime in the United States 2015 by Contains findings from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) of the offenses, known to law enforcement, released annually from its Uniform Crime Reporting Program. Includes statistics for violent and property crimes, hate crimes and crime trends. Includes arrest data distribution by Hispanic/Latino and non-Hispanic/non-Latino ethnicity.
Call Number: HV6787.A3 2015
Publication Date: 2015-07-02
Encyclopedia of White-Collar and Corporate Crime by
Call Number: HV6788 .E63 2013
Publication Date: 2013-07-11
International Handbook of Penology and Criminal Justice by Provides a comprehensive review of the philosophy and practicality of punishment. Covers the theory, practice, history, and empirical evidence surrounding crime prevention, identification, retribution, and incarceration. Analyzes the efficacy of both traditional methods of thinking as well as novel concepts and approaches.
Call Number: HV7405 .I59 2008
Publication Date: 2007-10-08
Comparative and International Criminal Justice Systems by Explores the purpose and rationale for the study of comparative and international criminal justice systems. Examines systems in the United States, Ireland, Israel, Argentina, Sierra Leone, China, Russia, and Poland. Compares and contrasts criminal justice systems of individual countries with United Nations judicial systems. Provides a thorough, unbiased study of the Islamic justice system. Includes crime data, arrest, prosecution, and conviction rates.
Call Number: HV7419 .C65 2013
Publication Date: 2013-05-13
Encyclopedia of Criminal Justice Ethics by Explores the scope of ethical decision making and behaviors within the spheres of criminal justice systems, including policing, corrections, courts, forensic science, and policy analysis and research. Entries are authored and signed by experts in the field and conclude with references and further readings, as well as cross references to related entries that guide readers to the next steps in their research journeys.
Call Number: HV7419 .E53 2014
Publication Date: 2014-08-06
World Criminal Justice Systems by Provides an understanding of major world criminal justice systems by discussing and comparing the systems of six of the world's countries: England, France, Russia, China, Japan, and South Africa. Analyzes the political, historical, organizational, procedural, and critical issues confronting the justice systems.
Call Number: HV7419 .T47 2013
Publication Date: 2012-10-19
Crime Prevention by Comprehensive and authoritative review of research on crime prevention. Brings together top scholars in criminology, public policy, psychology, and sociology. Includes critical reviews of the main theories that form the basis of crime prevention, evidence-based assessments of the effectiveness of the most important interventions, and cross-cutting essays that examine implementation, evaluation methodology, and public policy.
Call Number: HV7431 .O94 2012
Publication Date: 2012-03-12
Guns in American Society by Comprehensive resource on the legal, social, psychological, political, and public health aspects of guns in American life. Contains a comprehensive bibliography of print and online resources covering all aspects of the study of guns in the United States. Includes appendices on federal gun laws, state gun laws, and pro- and anti-gun-control organizations.
Call Number: HV7436 .G8783 2012
Publication Date: 2012-05-04
Encyclopedia of Police Science by Examines the theoretical and practical aspects of law enforcement, discussing past and present practices with particular focus on today's policing issues. Also added are themes such as accountability, the culture of police, and the legal framework that affects police decision. New topics discuss recent issues, such as Internet and crime, international terrorism, airport safety, or racial profiling.
Call Number: HV7901 .E53 2007
Publication Date: 2006-10-23
Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement by Provides a comprehensive, critical and descriptive examination of all facets of law enforcement on the state and local, federal and national, and international stages. Also provides informed discussions on the practice and theory of policing in an historical and contemporary framework. The volumes treat subjects that are particular to the area of state and local, federal and national, and international policing.
Call Number: HV7921 .E53 2005
Publication Date: 2004-12-15
Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences by Contents covers the core theories, methods and techniques employed by forensic scientists and applications of these that are used in forensic analysis. Coverage of DNA and digital forensics.
Call Number: HV8073 .E58 2013
Publication Date: 2013-03-28
Handbook of Criminal Investigation by Provides a rigorous and critical approach to not only the process of criminal investigation, but also the context in which this takes place, the theory underlying it, and the variety of factors which influence approaches to it.
Call Number: HV8073 .H255 2007
Publication Date: 2007-05-01
The Encyclopedia of Crime Scene Investigation by Topics include ballistics, counterfeiting, forensic medicine, firearms, hijacking, identification, poisons, scandals, sex crimes, smuggling, tool marks, and trace evidence. Also features many case studies that highlight facets of criminal investigation, as well as historical and biographical entries about key breakthroughs and pioneers in the field of forensic science.
Call Number: HV8073 .N49 2008
Publication Date: 2007-12-01
Scientific Foundations of Crime Scene Reconstruction: Introducing Method to Mayhem by Demonstrates how to use the scientific method and exercise the critical thinking that is essential for the development of sound data and the construction of reliable explanations. Provides a clear yet rigorous account of the scientific method accessible to non-philosophers Supplies examples showing the application of scientific methods to the reconstruction of events that leave physical evidence at crime scenes.
Call Number: HV8073 .N63 2013
Publication Date: 2012-12-17
The Encyclopedia of American Law Enforcement by Provides a history of the police and law enforcement authorities in the United States from the 17th century to the present. Coverage includes all major federal law enforcement agencies, biographies of key figures, civil rights and social issues, community outreach efforts, famous or infamous incidents and scandals, law enforcement campaigns such as the War on Drugs, police codes, organization, and jargon, police tactics and special units, types of crime, and women in law enforcement.
Call Number: HV8133 .N49 2007
Publication Date: 2007-02-01
The SAGE Handbook of Punishment and Society by Draws together the disparate and expansive field of punishment and society into one compelling new volume. Illuminates some of the key themes in this complex area such as: capital punishment, the civilising process, gender, diversity, inequality, power, human rights and neoliberalism.
Call Number: HV8665 .S24 2013
Publication Date: 2012-11-19
Encyclopedia of Juvenile Violence by Provides a historical overview of many significant time periods and offers entries about many types of juvenile violence. Covers competing theories of youth violence, gender, race, and educational status, and the criminal justice system's methods for dealing with both victims and offenders over time. Also discusses hazing, systemic violence in schools, and peaceable schools.
Call Number: HV9104 .E59 2007
Publication Date: 2006-12-30
Juvenile Justice Sourcebook by Covers biopsychosocial assessment, police and juvenile court processing, and institutional and community-based treatment and rehabilitation of juvenile offenders. Explores topics ranging from innovative counseling and multisystemic programs, to restorative justice, to rehabilitation programs such as aggression replacement training, wilderness programs, family treatment, substance abuse treatment, restitution, and aftercare.
Call Number: HV9104 .J868 2004
Publication Date: 2004-07-22
Dictionary of Probation and Offender Management by Covers key aspects of criminal justice and the criminal justice system. Designed to meet the needs of both students and practitioners with approximately 300 entries on key terms and concepts arranged alphabetically. Entries include summary definition, main text, and key texts. Sources take full account of emerging occupational and Skills for Justice criteria.
Call Number: HV9345 .A5 D53 2007
Publication Date: 2007-09-21
Encyclopedia of Prisons and Correctional Facilities by Provides a critical overview of penal institutions within a historical and contemporary framework. Contains biographies, articles describing important legal statutes, as well as detailed and authoritative descriptions of the major prisons in the United States. Comparative data and examples are employed to analyze the America system within an international context.
Call Number: HV9471 .E693 2005
Publication Date: 2004-12-15
A Guide to Sources of Texas Criminal Justice Statistics by Contains more than 600 entries describing statistical sources for Texas crime; criminals; law enforcement; courts and sentencing; adult and juvenile corrections; capital punishment and death row; victims of crime; driving/boating under the influence; traffic fatalities; substance abuse and treatment; polls and rankings; and fiscal topics such as appropriations, revenues, expenditures, and federal aid.
Call Number: HV9955 .T4 H37 2011
Publication Date: 2011-03-17
Search the Library Catalog
Search Reference Universe