Research Guides: SHSU Common Reader 2017: The Good Food Revolution: Find Related Books & Articles

Finding Articles

Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window Content from leading trade and industrial journals, professional and technical society journals, specialized subject periodicals, buyers guides, directories, conference proceedings and more. Covers a wide variety of applied science specialties, from acoustics to aeronautics, and neural networks to nuclear engineering.
General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window General Science Full Text is a database that provides the full text of selected periodicals. Coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals in the sciences.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (OVIC) This link opens in a new window Library of current event topics, including the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Viewpoint articles allow students to explore each topic's many facets. Also features statistics and government data placed in context.
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is the world's largest scientific database. ScienceDirect provides full-text access to journals in various science disciplines. Note: Does not support IE 8 or older versions.
Science in Context This link opens in a new window A resource providing contextual information on hundreds of science topics. By integrating authoritative reference content with headlines and videos, it draws students into the subject matter, showing how scientific disciplines relate to realworld issues, from weather patterns to obesity.
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science provides cover-to-cover indexing in journals from a full range of disciplines, from 1984 to the present. Made up of Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, each index is a true cited reference index, with citation counts and the ability to trace research forward or backward in time. Links are provided when full-text access is available.

Find a list of all databases online. If you need help, Ask a Librarian!

Ask Us!

Nonfiction Selections

Feeding Cities by Christopher Bosso (Editor)
ISBN: 9781138647251
Publication Date: 2016-10-14
Street Farm by Michael Ableman
ISBN: 9781603586023
Publication Date: 2016-08-09
Cities of Farmers by Julie C. Dawson (Editor); Alfonso Morales (Editor)
ISBN: 9781609384371
Publication Date: 2016-11-15
Cities and Agriculture by Henk de Zeeuw; Pay Drechsel (Editor)
ISBN: 9781138860582
Publication Date: 2015-10-05
Public Produce by Darrin Nordahl
ISBN: 9781610915496
Publication Date: 2014-09-29
Second Nature Urban Agriculture by André Viljoen; Katrin Bohn
ISBN: 9780415540575
Publication Date: 2014-10-08
Eat, Cook, Grow by Jaz Hee-jeong Choi (Editor); Marcus Foth (Editor); Greg Hearn (Editor)
ISBN: 9780262026857
Publication Date: 2014-03-27
The Evolving Sphere of Food Security by Rosamond L. Naylor (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199354054
Publication Date: 2014-09-17
Food Activism by Carole Counihan (Editor); Valeria Siniscalchi (Editor)
ISBN: 9780857858320
Publication Date: 2014-01-30

E-Book Selections

Urban Farm Projects by Kelly Wood
ISBN: 9781620081242
Publication Date: 2014-03-18
Informal Urban Agriculture by Michael Hardman; Peter J. Larkham
ISBN: 9783319095349
Publication Date: 2014-10-01
The Everything Backyard Farming Book by Neil Shelton
ISBN: 9781440566028
Publication Date: 2013-10-04
Designing Urban Agriculture by April Philips
ISBN: 9781118330234
Publication Date: 2013-05-10
Continuous Productive Urban Landscapes by Andre Viljoen
ISBN: 9780080454528
Publication Date: 2005-04-05
Local Food Systems in Old Industrial Regions by Neil Reid (Editor); Jay D. Gatrell (Editor); Paula S. Ross (Editor)
ISBN: 9781409432227
Publication Date: 2012-08-16