Research Guides: SHSU Common Reader 2016: An Astronaut's Guide to Life on Earth: Find Related Books & Articles

Finding Articles

Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window Content from leading trade and industrial journals, professional and technical society journals, specialized subject periodicals, buyers guides, directories, conference proceedings and more. Covers a wide variety of applied science specialties, from acoustics to aeronautics, and neural networks to nuclear engineering.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics contains physical constants and formulas, properties of elements and organic and inorganic compounds, and other chemical data.
General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window General Science Full Text is a database that provides the full text of selected periodicals. Coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals in the sciences.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (OVIC) This link opens in a new window Library of current event topics, including the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Viewpoint articles allow students to explore each topic's many facets. Also features statistics and government data placed in context.
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is the world's largest scientific database. ScienceDirect provides full-text access to journals in various science disciplines. Note: Does not support IE 8 or older versions.
Science in Context This link opens in a new window A resource providing contextual information on hundreds of science topics. By integrating authoritative reference content with headlines and videos, it draws students into the subject matter, showing how scientific disciplines relate to realworld issues, from weather patterns to obesity.
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science provides cover-to-cover indexing in journals from a full range of disciplines, from 1984 to the present. Made up of Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, each index is a true cited reference index, with citation counts and the ability to trace research forward or backward in time. Links are provided when full-text access is available.

Find a list of all databases online. If you need help, Ask a Librarian!

Ask Us!

Nonfiction Selections

Partnership in Space by Ben Evans
ISBN: 9781461432777
Publication Date: 2013-10-05
The Case for Mars by Robert Zubrin; Richard Wagner
ISBN: 0684827573
Publication Date: 1996-10-16
The Meaning and Value of Spaceflight by William Sims Bainbridge
ISBN: 3319078771
Publication Date: 2014-08-22
Mission to Mars by Buzz Aldrin; Leonard David
ISBN: 9781426210174
Publication Date: 2013-05-07
Final Frontier by Brian Clegg
ISBN: 9781250039439
Publication Date: 2014-08-19
NASA in the World by John Krige; Angelina Long Callahan; Ashok Maharaj
ISBN: 9781137340917
Publication Date: 2013-08-23
Life Beyond Earth by Athena Coustenis; Thérèse Encrenaz
ISBN: 9781107026179
Publication Date: 2013-09-12
Dreams of Other Worlds by Chris Impey; Holly Henry
ISBN: 9780691147536
Publication Date: 2013-09-08
Hubble's Universe by Terence Dickinson
ISBN: 9781770851078
Publication Date: 2012-09-06

E-Book Selections

Maple Leaf in Space: Canada's Astronauts by John Melady
ISBN: 1306269393
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
How Outer Space Made America by Daniel Sage
ISBN: 1472423674
Publication Date: 2014-11-03
Crowded Orbits by James Clay Moltz
ISBN: 9780231528177
Publication Date: 2014-04-29
Archaeology and Heritage of the Human Movement into Space by Beth Laura O'Leary (Editor); P. J. Capelotti (Editor)
ISBN: 3319078666
Publication Date: 2014-08-30
101 Amazing Facts about Space by Jack Goldstein
ISBN: 9781783331901
Publication Date: 2013-08-06
Britannica Illustrated Science Library by Sol 90
ISBN: 9781615358328
Publication Date: 2013-01-01