Skip to main content
Where to Search for Documents FROM the Case
Westlaw NEXT Westlaw provides access to cases from the courts of all 50 states and the federal courts, statutes from all 50 states and federal statutes. Contains full text of American Law Reports and numerous law reviews. This is the best place to start legal research.
Where to Search for Articles ABOUT the Case
In addition to the History databases on the "Find Articles" tab and the two databases above, the follownig databases of legal journals may also contain articles that analyze a particular case, its impact, etc.
Legal Source Includes scholarly law journals, scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews, and more. Covers topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical law, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment, and more. International scope covers U.S., Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand.
Latinos and American Law: Landmark Supreme Court Cases by
Call Number: KF4757.5 .L38 A52 2006, 4th floor
Publication Date: 2006
To achieve justice and equal protection under the law, Latinos have turned to the U.S. court system to assert and defend their rights. Some of these cases have reached the United States Supreme Court, whose rulings over more than a century have both expanded and restricted the legal rights of Latinos, creating a complex terrain of power relations between the U.S. government and the country's now-largest ethnic minority.
If the party names in your case are very common, your searches may return material on other cases as well.
It is helpful if you know a year, or at least a general time period, when your case was decided. Then you can look at the dates on the cases you find and you will know which one to choose!
Noteworthy Cases: A Sample