Research Guides: Nutrition, Food Science, and Dietetics Guide: Best Places to find Scholarly Articles

Librarian

Lisa Connor

Contact:

936-294-3527
lconnor@shsu.edu

Librarian at SHSU-The Woodlands Center

Tyler Manolovitz

Contact:

936-202-5052
tyler@shsu.edu

To schedule a meeting in-person or via Zoom, click the Schedule Appointment button above.

If Tyler is unavailable and you need immediate assistance, please contact Newton Gresham Library.

Primary Resources

Nutrition Care Manual This link opens in a new window (number of simultaneous users is limited) The ADA Nutrition Care Manual (NCM), published by the American Dietetic Association for dietitians, dietetic technicians, and related health care professionals, provides a comprehensive source of research-based nutrition information and tools designed to be used in a clinical setting.
NUTRITIONnetBASE (part of CRCnetBASE) This link opens in a new window Provides e-books in Nutrition (as well as Forensic Science, and the Handbook of Chemistry and Physics).
Merck Manual This link opens in a new window One of the most popular general medicine resources on-line. This electronic version provides the same information as found in the 1999, 17th print edition. There is both a search engine and a Table of Contents for browsing subjects.
electronic Nutrition Care Process Terminology (eNCPT) This link opens in a new window

Primary Journal Article Databases

The Newton Gresham Library subscribes to several journal article databases relevant to nursing. Names of databases along with a short description and a link to the database are listed below.

Remember, if you are off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your computer account username and password.

PubMed This link opens in a new window Search help: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/help/

Help- PubMed searching

CINAHL Complete (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) This link opens in a new window Nursing and allied health journals and other publications of the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The gold-standard in Evidence-Based Practice documentation for Nursing, Health and all healthcare related disciplines. Providing high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, including: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; Cochrane Methodology Register; Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE); Health Technology Assessment Database; and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is the world's largest scientific database. ScienceDirect provides full-text access to journals in various science disciplines. Note: Does not support IE 8 or older versions.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science provides cover-to-cover indexing in journals from a full range of disciplines, from 1984 to the present. Made up of Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, each index is a true cited reference index, with citation counts and the ability to trace research forward or backward in time. Links are provided when full-text access is available.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window SPORTDiscus is the leading bibliographic database for sports and sports medicine research. It includes millions of records from leading sports medicine journals, books, dissertations and more. Subjects covered include nutrition, physical therapy, occupational health, exercise physiology and kinesiology.

Additional Health Databases

Health Reference Center Academic This link opens in a new window This database provides indexing, abstracts and some full text for journals and magazines in the health sciences. Designed for allied health science students as well as informed consumer health researchers.
- This link opens in a new window
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window (number of simultaneous users is limited) Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI), produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.

CDC WONDER Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research -- an easy-to-use, menu-driven system that makes the information resources of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) available to public health professionals and the public at large. It provides access to a wide array of public health information.

Google Scholar

Video Resources

Health and Society in Video This link opens in a new window Defines and explores todays latest medical progress in health and wellness issues and their impact on society--with hundreds of premium documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews.
Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window Thousands of hours of streaming video in most disciplines. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Read Quick-Start: How to Link to a Film, or Films on Demand: A Guide for SHSU Users
Instant access to thousands of educational films, ranging from almost every academic discipline to life-skills content. Select films include closed-captioning and/or interactive text transcripts. Roll over the video player and click ""CC"" button at upper right for captions.
Nursing Education in Video This link opens in a new window Nursing Education in Video: Third Edition is an up-to-date collection of demonstration and training videos designed to help students improve their clinical skills. This resource provides access to Medcom's complete collection of 300+ full-length training videos allowing your patrons anytime, anywhere access to the latest resources available for nurse training so they can provide the best possible patient care.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
This platform provides access to various films which SHSU has individually licensed or purchased, as listed on the homepage. Please Note: Searching or browsing may display other films as "available for request," but they are not immediately accessible at SHSU.
NOTE: There is limited support on Internet Explorer, so we recommend using Chrome or Firefox (Safari or Edge if available) to stream videos on Kanopy.