Research Guides: VCST 4390 Social Media Campaign: Academic Journal Databases

Librarian

Dianna Kim

Contact:

936-294-3687
dlk011@shsu.edu

Criminal Justice Specific Databases

Criminal Justice (CJ) Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts of the major scholarly journals, books, and reports in criminology and related disciplines. This is the best place to search for scholarly article citations.
ProQuest Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
Provides information on criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal law. Contains full text of selected scholarly journals.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) - (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest search interface for NCJRS. The National Criminal Justice Reference Service is the research library of the Department of Justice. This database provides summaries of criminal justice publications, including Federal, State, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Many of the publications from 1995 forward are full-text.
Criminology Collection This link opens in a new window
The Criminology Collection includes the full-text of volume one to the present for select journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Articles cover such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, and Forensic Psychology.

Google Scholar

Additional Databases

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is the world's largest scientific database. ScienceDirect provides full-text access to journals in various science disciplines. Note: Does not support IE 8 or older versions.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive and high-quality sociology research database containing informative abstracts for "core" journals dating as far back as 1895. Also includes extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources.
SpringerLINK This link opens in a new window
Publisher database with full-text access to library-subscribed titles.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Search and browse millions of articles from thousands of journals, books, and other materials in the areas of life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Subjects range from Agriculture, Business, and Chemistry to Criminology, Nursing, and Psychology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Huge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO(R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.