Research Guides: Agricultural Sciences Resources: Finding Ag Sciences Books

Addt'l Ag Resources

Ag Sciences Librarian

Contact:

936-294-4782
adair@shsu.edu
NGL 223A (Library)

Where are the Books?

You can search for electronic books in Engine Orange or browse the ebook collections themselves.

Print books and monographs on the Ag Sciences are in numerous places in the Library, listed below are the typical leading call numbers. You are welcome to browse the shelves or search using the library catalog. There are also titles in the Reference section on the 3rd floor and in Government Documents, which is in Closed Stacks.

4th Floor
• HD 1401-2200 - AgriBusiness
• HD 9000+ - Ag Industries

Children's Collection (3rd Floor)
• LS[PB] 330s - Economics
• LS[PB] 380s - Commerce
• LS[PB] 580s - Plants / Botany
• LS[PB] 590s - Zoology
• LS[PB] 600s - Technology
• LS[PB] 710s - Landscape Art

3rd Floor
• S - General Ag, 3rd Floor
• S 530+ - Ag Education (and in the IMC)
• SB - Horticulture
• SD - Forestry
• SF - Animal Husbandry
• SF 600+ - Vet Medicine
• SH - Aquaculture
• SK - Hunting & Wildlife Management
• TJ 1480+ - Ag Machinery

New Books

This is only a sample of items added to the collection in the past year...

A Profile of the Farm Machinery Industry by D. Drake The farm machinery industry, though dominated by three large companies, is a complex sector of the global manufacturing economy that encompasses many smaller manufacturers as well. While contributing a small percentage to gross world product, it is vitally important to another key sector of the economy agriculture. Consequently, the recent rise in global crop prices has allowed the industry to be more resilient than other mature manufacturing sectors, like automobiles. The proposed book will provide a concise but comprehensive look at the farm machinery industry: its history, organization, competitors, and the challenges and opportunities the industry faces as a result of regulations, globalization and outside market forces. This will be done as a means of understanding a crucial building block to the success of agriculture's ability to feed the expanding world population.
Call Number: HD9486 .A2 D73 2021
ISBN: 9781953349309
Agricultural and Agribusiness Law by T.A. Feitshans This introductory textbook provides an overview of the concepts necessary for an understanding of agricultural and agribusiness law. The text will help students of land-based industries with little or no legal background to appreciate and identify issues that may require referral or consultation with legal counsel. This new edition is fully revised and updated, particularly addressing developments in taxation and trade, and includes a new chapter on criminal law, an area of increasing relevance to agriculture. Each concise chapter addresses a different legal issue that those employed in agriculture and agribusiness may face, and both federal law and representative examples of state law are included. In addition to traditional topics such as contracts, property law, and estate planning, the book also covers more contemporary issues such as organic certification, animal law, genetically engineered crops, and food safety. Agricultural law extends beyond those directly engaged in farming to those in agribusiness who provide services and inputs to farmers, buy farmers' products, store or transport products, manufacture food products and serve as intermediaries between farmers and consumers. The book will, therefore, also serve as a reference and a guide for those employed in agribusiness and agriculture. >Agricultural law extends beyond those directly engaged in farming to those in agribusiness who provide services and inputs to farmers, buy farmers' products, store or transport products, manufacture food products and serve as intermediaries between farmers and consumers. The book will, therefore, also serve as a reference and a guide for those employed in agribusiness and agriculture.
Call Number: KF1682 .F45 2019
ISBN: 9781138606104
Amino Acids in Nutrition & Health of Companion, Zoo & Farm Animals by Guoyao Wu (Ed.) Amino acids (AAs) are not only building blocks of protein, but are also signalling molecules as well as regulators of gene expression and the protein phosphorylation cascade.  Additionally, AAs are key precursors for syntheses of hormones and low-molecular weight nitrogenous substances with each having enormous biological importance.  For example, physiological concentrations of AA metabolites (e.g., nitric oxide, polyamines, glutathione, taurine, thyroid hormones, and serotonin) are required for cell functions. Growing evidence shows that humans and animals have dietary requirements for all proteinogenic AAs.  Mammals, birds and fish also have species- and age-dependent needs for some AA-related substances. However, elevated levels of other products (e.g., ammonia, homocysteine, H2S, and asymmetric dimethylarginine) are pathogenic factors for neurological disorders, oxidative stress, and cardiovascular disease.  Thus, optimal amounts of AAs and their ratios in diets and circulation are crucial for whole body homeostasis and health.  Adequate provision of one or a mixture of functional AAs or metabolites may be beneficial for ameliorating health problems at various stages of the life cycle (e.g., fetal growth restriction, neonatal morbidity and mortality, weaning-associated intestinal dysfunction and wasting syndrome, obesity, diabetes, cardiovascular disease, the metabolic syndrome, and infertility). Dietary supplementation of these nutrients can also optimize the efficiency of metabolic transformations to enhance muscle growth, milk production, and athletic performance, while preventing excess fat deposition and reducing adiposity.  Therefore, functional AAs hold great promise in improving the growth, health and well-being of individuals. Chapter 7 is available open access under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License via link.springer.com.
Call Number: eBook (EBSCOhost)
ISBN: 9783030544614
Ecoagriculture for a Sustainable Food Future by N.Y. Chalmer Global food security is dependent on ecologically viable production systems, but current agricultural practices are often at odds with environmental sustainability. Resolving this disparity is a huge task, but there is much that can be learned from traditional food production systems that persisted for thousands of years. Ecoagriculture for a Sustainable Food Futuredescribes the ecological history of food production systems in Australia, showing how Aboriginal food systems collapsed when European farming methods were imposed on bushlands. The industrialized agricultural systems that are now prevalent across the world require constant input of finite resources, and continue to cause destructive environmental change. This book explores the damage that has arisen from farming systems unsuited to their environment, and presents compelling evidence that producing food is an ecological process that needs to be rethought in order to ensure resilient food production into the future. Features: Discusses the way current food production negatively impacts our environment, and the lessons that can be learnt from the past. Explores key concepts including Social Ecological Systems, agroecosystems, resilience, sustainability and traditional ecological knowledge. Provides examples of present and possible future adaptive pathways that would work within the constraints of nature in Australia, and worldwide.
Call Number: S478 .A1 C43 2021
ISBN: 9781486313419
New Developments in Agricultural Research by P. Blanchard (Ed.) New Developments in Agricultural Research provides a comprehensive introduction and overview of portable MMSs applied to agricultural and forestry, to highlight the potentialities and challenges of this novel technology in this specific application field. The application of these systems for dendrometric parameters is presented, as well as a review about their applications. The authors discuss the issue of how to assess the sustainability of farms, one of the most topical for researchers, farmers, investors, administrators, policymakers, interest groups, and the public at large around the globe. A practical and holistic approach is suggested for assessing the sustainability of farms in Bulgaria. The closing chapter examines farm-size and partial food availability relationships as well as modern technology adoption, and provides a detailed account of constraints faced by farmers in producing food from farming operations.
Call Number: S540 .A2 N49 2019
ISBN: 9781536153637
Forest Certification & Sustainable Management by J.G. Robles; C.A. Savage The national forests have been the focus of controversy for many years. Reduced timber harvests, increased wildfire risks, degraded forest health, and disagreements among users and other stakeholders have led to congressional disputes over appropriate management. Some interests have suggested third-party certification of sustainable management of the national forests as a possible solution to many of these difficulties. This book outlines the history and development of forest certification as a voluntary, market-based mechanism to promote sustainable forest practices. The two major certification programs are described, compared and contrasted based on a broad range of sustainable forest management issues pertinent to the National Forest System.
Call Number: SD387 .E58 F66 2012
ISBN: 9781620812068
Tech to Table by R. Munson Imagine eating a burger grown in a laboratory, a strawberry picked by a robot, or a pastry created with a 3-D printer. You would never taste the difference, but these technologies might just save your health and the planet's. Today, landmark advances in computing, engineering, and medicine are driving solutions to the biggest problems created by industrialized food. Tech to Table introduces readers to twenty-five of the most creative entrepreneurs advancing these solutions. They come from various places and professions, identities and backgrounds. But they share an outsider's perspective and an idealistic, sometimes aggressive, ambition to rethink the food system. Reinvention is desperately needed. Under Big Ag, pollution, climate change, animal cruelty, hunger, and obesity have festered, and despite decades of effort, organic farming accounts for less than one percent of US croplands. Entrepreneurs represent a new path, one where disruptive technology helps people and the environment. These innovations include supplements to lower the methane in cattle belches, drones that monitor irrigation levels in crops, urban warehouses that grow produce year-round, and more. The pace and breadth of change is astonishing, as investors pump billions of dollars into ag-innovation. Startups are attracting capital and building markets, with the potential to upend conventional agribusiness's stranglehold on the food system. Not every invention will prosper long-term, but each marks a fundamental change in our approach to feeding a growing population--sustainably. A revolution in how we grow and eat food is brewing. Munson's deftly crafted profiles offer a fascinating preview of the coming future of food.    
Call Number: TP370 .M86 2021
ISBN: 9781642831900
Practical Problems in Mathematics for Welders by R. Chasan Now you can combine a highly effective, practical approach to mathematics with the latest procedures, technologies, and practices in today's welding industry with PRACTICAL PROBLEMS IN MATHEMATICS FOR WELDERS, 6E. Readers clearly see how welders rely on mathematical skills to solve both everyday and more challenging problems, from measuring materials for cutting and assembling to effectively and economically ordering materials. Highly readable explanations, numerous real-world examples, and practice problems emphasize math skills most important in welding today, from basic procedures to more advanced math formulas and technologies. Readers leave equipped with the strong math tools they need for success in today's welding careers.
Call Number: TS227.2 .C425 2012
ISBN: 9781111313593