It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ISDT 7350 - Issues in Instructional Tech: Finding Articles
This course guide supports your coursework in ISDT 7350 - Issues in Instructional Tech.
If you need additional help, please contact Heather Adair, ISDT Librarian, using the contact box in the lower right hand corner.
Education SourceInternational array of English-language journals, monographs, yearbooks and more, covering all levels of educationfrom early childhood to higher educationas well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Education WeekMore than a print journal, Education Week’s online platform is updated weekly with new articles, informational and instructional videos, webinars, and more. Special sections on technology, market trends (K-12), and job searching are also included.
Digital edition of Education Week also available here
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Clearinghouse)Covers all areas of education, 1966 to the present, including research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. Links to many full-text documents since 1993. NOTE: The SHSU Library also owns ERIC on microfiche back to 1963.
The IEEE Xplore Digital Library is the premier database for research in electrical engineering, electronics, computer science and related disciplines. IEEE Xplore includes full-text access to over 5 million documents, including IEEE journals, magazines, conferences, and standards, as well as IET journals, magazines, and conferences with a backfile to the late 1800s for select titles.
Information Science and Technology Abstracts (ISTA)Information Science & Technology Abstracts is a leading database in the areas of information science. ISTA indexes journal articles, plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings and patents, with ongoing comprehensive coverage of the most important periodicals in this field. Coverage dates back to the mid-1960s.
Dissertations and Theses Full TextDissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts (does not include SHSU master's theses). Many are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate download.
Educational Administration AbstractsCovers areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
JSTORHuge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.
Library & Information Science SourceContaining English and foreign-language periodicals, journals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, library school theses and books, this database encompasses subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, and the history of library studies.
PsycINFOPsycINFO(R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
UlrichsWeb Global Serials DirectoryUlrichsWeb is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.
Web of ScienceWeb of Science provides cover-to-cover indexing in journals from a full range of disciplines, from 1984 to the present. Made up of Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, each index is a true cited reference index, with citation counts and the ability to trace research forward or backward in time. Links are provided when full-text access is available.
Education in Video (Volumes I-II)Provides resources for both new and experienced teachers to increase their knowledge and skills and for education faculty to link abstract theories of education to real-world students and classrooms, including emphases on education, emerging teaching approaches, special needs, English as a second language, and the US Common Core standards.
Kanopy Streaming VideoThis platform provides access to various films which SHSU has individually licensed or purchased, as listed on the homepage. Please Note: Searching or browsing may display other films as "available for request," but they are not immediately accessible at SHSU.
NOTE: There is limited support on Internet Explorer, so we recommend using Chrome or Firefox (Safari or Edge if available) to stream videos on Kanopy.
NBC Learn K-12Please note: The video download feature cannot be used on campus computers. NBC Learn K-12 offers unique collections of video resources, primary sources, historic footage, images, mini-documentaries and text resources designed for use in the K-12 classroom. Includes the ability to search by Texas TEKS standards.
NBC Learn Higher EdPlease note: The video download feature cannot be used on campus computers. Large collection of educational streaming videos in many subject areas, including Agriscience, Criminal Justice, Education, Finance, Forensic Science, History, Journalism, Technology, and many more.
ALL videos include closed-captioning and text transcripts; click the CC button found on the right side of the video play controls, or click "Transcript" along the right edge of the video player. Details on NBC Learn Section 508 accessibility.