Research Guides: The History Research Process: Surveying Scholarship

Librarian

Kristina Claunch

Contact:

936-294-1520
kclaunch@shsu.edu
Library (NGL) Room 223G

Best Bet Resources for Scholarly Literature

The following databases will be the best places to begin searching for scholarly literature for this class.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window Huge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window U.S. and Canadian history, from prehistory to the present. Local, state, and international journals (mostly English-language). Links out to many full-text articles from other databases.

Additional Resources for Scholarly Literature

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Full-text journals in many disciplines across the sciences and humanities. SHSU subscribes to "Project Muse Premium."
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window Provides many of the most important academic journals in the humanities. Includes feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition This link opens in a new window Provides indexing, abstracts, and full text for journals in almost all subject areas.

Other Sources to Keep in Mind

For the assignments in this class, you are not required to find and engage with book-length sources.

However, in other contexts, resources such as the library catalog and the WorldCat database would also be essential tools for surveying the existing scholarly literature.

Library Catalog
more...less...
Search for books, e-books, periodicals, government documents, and more in the library's catalog.

WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window Combined catalog for tens of thousands of libraries around the world. Books, journals, musical scores, computer data files, magazines, newspapers, computer programs, manuscript/archive collections, sound recordings, films/slides, maps, video.
Engine Orange This link opens in a new window Powerful combined search of the library catalog and many of the library's article databases to find books, ebooks, films, articles, and much more, all in one search.