Skip to main content

HIST 4370 / HIST 5377: American West

Get started researching topics in the history of the American West.

Librarian

Erin Owens's picture
Erin Owens
Contact:
936-294-4567
eowens@shsu.edu
Room 200C, 2nd floor, Library (NGL)

Purpose

This guide is intended to provide a starting point for researching topics in the history of the American West.

This guide is not comprehensive; it does not list all of the resources on this subject or in related disciplines owned by the Library or available on the Internet. This guide serves merely as a starting point for research.

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, & Other Reference Books

Reference Universe logo

Search a selection of print and electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other Reference books.

 

More Search Options

 

Specific Groups in the West

Browse the Collection

An excellent way to discover additional resources is to browse for books in relevant call number ranges.

Most books related to topics in the history of the American West are located on the 4th floor in call numbers beginning with F; more specific call numbers are defined below.

This is just a sampling. To look up additional call number ranges, consult the Library of Congress Classification Outline.

F590.3 - F705 - The West, Trans-Mississippi Region, Great Plains
(includes The Northwest, Missouri River and Valley, Minnesota, Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Kansas, Oklahoma)

F721 - F785 - Rocky Mountains, Yellowstone National Park
(includes Montana, Idaho, Wyoming, Colorado)

F786 - F850 - The New Southwest, Colorado River, Canyon, and Valley
(includes New Mexico, Arizona, Utah, Nevada)

F850.5 - F951 - Pacific States
(includes Cascade Range, Pacific Northwest, Columbia River and Valley, Northwest boundary since 1846, California, Oregon, Washington, Alaska)

Search the Library Catalog

Search for books and other items in the library catalog.


 

More Search Options

 

Video Refresher: Intro to Searching the Catalog

Click the icon in the bottom right corner of the video player to view it in full screen!

Subject Headings

Subject headings allow you to find books according to broader and narrower topics.

Below are sample subjects. To browse for different, broader, or narrower subjects, go to the library catalog and click "Exact Search." Enter a term and click "subject."

You can start browsing for a broad subject like Education, then look for more specific subjects, such as Education England History 18th century.

Once you know some subject headings, you can also just use them as keywords during an advanced search, using the subject row.

A Sampling of Books in the Main Collection


Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System